Cobalt Silver Kings - Home Players Years
Copyright 2008 Rapid Spiral Development Inc.
Part of the Talk-Sports websites.
Please submit photos, corrections and new information to

O'Brien Trophy

The M.J. O'Brien Trophy (or Cup) was originally awarded to the TPHL champions and later to the champions of the NHA and NHL. The trophy is forged of Cobalt silver and was donated to the NHA by M.J. O'Brien. Cobalt won the trophy in 1909 as champions of the TPHL. Starting in 1928, the trophy was awarded to the winner of the NHL Canadian division and starting in 1939, the trophy was awarded to the runner-up of the NHL playoff.




NHL Canadian Division

NHL Runner-Up